A little lesson

Up until a few months ago, self-portraits were rare and generally involved me pulling a face but then, after taking Photo Meditations and with a nudge from a friend, I started to be a bit more adventurous.

I say adventurous but, at first, things were very abstract and often of the dark and moody variety.

Then something strange happened, which has been a bit of a turning point for me, not just in my photography.

I had a very surreal moment, brought on by jet-lag, when I felt like the confident me was trapped inside a zombie-like body with no way of getting out. Around the same time, some old issues unexpectedly re-appeared, so, as you can imagine, life was a bundle of fun for me and those around me…..

It was a shock to the system that made me determined to get back on my feet, sort things out and push myself out of my comfort zone more often, even if it’s just a small step.

 (Apologies though to all the friends that have had to listen to me talk about how I’d like to have a do-over of those jet-lag days – a second chance to make a first impression and all that.)

In terms of my self-portraits, it’s meant that the photos are now less abstract and a whole lot lighter – it’s like they’re more positive now.

So, why am I telling you this? Well, I’ve learnt a few things – my body isn’t as bad as I think it is. (I’ve always been stuck somewhere between not hating it but not loving it either). More importantly, I can see how ridiculously small the change in angle or posture can be between a bad photo and a great one.

If you’ve been thinking about it, give it a try – you don’t know what might happen..

(Still not quite brave enough to show my face here yet though! Maybe next time.)

4 thoughts on “A little lesson

  1. Pingback: It’s all about the little things (from 2012)… « dee.penn.photography

  2. Pingback: Me and my words « dee.penn.photography

  3. Pingback: Another little lesson | dee.penn.photography

Leave a Reply

